Theta Chi Wins IM Football Crown

Last Thursday on Whitnall Field, Theta Chi defeated Beta 31-19 to capture the Division I intramural flag football championship. In front of a crowd of approximately 60 fans, Theta Chi quarterback, senior Trevor Vincent, led the charge rushing for two touchdowns and connecting for two touchdown passes to senior Harry Raymond and junior Graham Tooker. Theta Chi’s defense shut down a Beta offense, led by seniors Alex Katz and Jeff Cooper, that had scored 84 points in the quarter and semi-finals.  

In the regular season, Theta Chi suffered three one-point loses and was expected to make an early exit when they matched up with top seed Phi Tau in the quarter finals. Instead, Theta Chi prevailed 42-41 when Phi Tau failed to convert a two-point conversion for the win in double overtime. Next in the semi-finals, Theta Chi took on undefeated Sigma Chi who was aiming for their fourth straight intramural football title. Sigma Chi’s revered big passing offense, led by seniors Teddy Seifort and Mike Naughton, stalled in the heavy rain while Theta Chi adapted to the weather with a west coast style offense. The result was a decisive 38-28 Theta Chi victory, ending a three-year Sigma Chi dynasty.

“Two concussions, a broken nose, and three one-point loses, it was a tough regular season but we knew we were capable of playing with anyone heading into the playoffs,” said senior Tim McGillicuddy. Raymond added “A four-year intramural sports career culminated in one game and there is no better way to go out than with Theta Chi on top.”